County Board of Supervisors

Prentiss County is governed by publicly elected supervisors that oversee the tax rates, annual budget, management, and growth of Prentiss County, as well as other duties laid out by the Mississippi statutes. There are 5 supervisors, one from each district, that serve out a four-year term.

City Board of Aldermen

The cities and towns in Prentiss County are each governed by a mayor and board of aldermen.

Law Enforcement

Prentiss County’s Sheriff’s Office has 8 full-time patrol deputies, 2 criminal investigators, 2 narcotics officers, 1 chief deputy, and various support staff such as corrections officers, dispatchers, and staff.  There are 45 full- and part-time employees plus 20 volunteer reserve deputies.

The Sheriff’s office sponsors numerous projects and programs such as DARE, the Prentiss County Drug Awareness Project, TRIAD, a senior citizen program, and operates a very successful jail ministry as well as providing direct support to area churches and schools. Prentiss County is also a member of the North Mississippi Narcotics Unit and an active participant in the North Mississippi Crime Stoppers program.

In the city of Booneville, there are 18 officers, 4 investigators, a chief and assistant chief, and 7 dispatch operators; the City also has 4 volunteer reserve officers.

The City of Baldwyn has 8 police officers, a chief and assistant chief, 1 investigator, and 2 dispatch operators. Marietta employs 4 part-time officers providing full time coverage. Jumpertown law enforcement is handled and coordinated by the Prentiss County Sheriff’s Office.